Merendolas

20081205_0050

As if I wasn’t bad enough at writing in one blog, from January on I might collaborate with one of the most fun blogs I have heard about lately:  merendolas. Merendola is a very fun Spanish word meaning snack; but they kind of snack you used to have at home with brothers and sisters when you got back from soccer practice/dance class/math review… so sort of a childhood complicity kinda thing. Anyway, my friend Sarah and her sister have started a yummy blog about the sheer pleasure of eating at odd hours and if time allows I will contribute with some of my grandma’s recipes, so be prepared to put on that apron.

The photo up there was taken at Ching Ching Desserts  (G/F, 77 Electric Road, Hong Kong) and are traditional Chinese desserts. Like most everything in Chinese cuisine there is soup involved; sweet one in this case…the upper one is mango+sago+starfruit; the one in the bottom is ginger syrup + rice balls filled with warm peanut butter; weird but absolutely delicious. There are a few dessert “restaurants” like Ching Ching (including one that specializes in mango desserts, my personal favorite) in Hong Kong and I promise to do a proper post about those and some of the other delicacies they serve, yes I promise.

For the moment head to www.merendolas.com and get those taste buds working.

Have a great time over christmas, whatever it means to you and get some good energy for next year, i’ll be a tough but exciting one!.

Leave a comment